Wednesday Words

Just a short one today, linking up to #WednesdayWords on the blog Crazy With Twins.

One of my favourite quotes comes from the film, “Harvey” (the original one, with James Stewart, *not* the remake). The quote is a short monologue by the main character, Elwood P. Dowd (played by Stewart) and is on the subject of smart vs. pleasant:

“Years ago, my mother used to say to me, she’d say: ‘In this world, Elwood,’ she always used to call me Elwood. ‘In this world, Elwood, you must be oh, so smart or oh, so pleasant.’ Well, for years I was smart. I recommend pleasant. And you can quote me.”

I would take pleasant over smart any day.

 

Crazy With Twins
4 thoughts on “Wednesday Words

  1. What an interesting quote. I made it my NYE resolution two years ago, to be more pleasant – to everyone. Even people I don’t particularly like. I’ve stuck to it ever since. It has not only made me a better person, but a happier one too! Thanks for joining in with #WednesdayWords x

Leave a Reply

